Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ok I have a secret to tell…. I’m naturally a blonde. Yep I have been dying my hair black since I was around 16 years old! In between I dabbled with a little red and maybe a warm brown once but its safe to say I’ve been rocking the raven black hair for years now. So because of this I always try to look after my hair by using shampoo’s & conditioner’s that are specifically formulated for colored or processed hair. I usually gravitate towards Pantene (ok a hairdresser out there just lost her wings) most of the time but every now and then I like to try something a little different. So off to the Aveda concept store in little Collins Street in Melbourne I went. ****This store has since been closed and the only other Aveda stockist i know in Melbourne is the counter in David Jones***

Aveda say:

Color Conserve Shampoo:

Extend the vibrance of color-treated hair—as only nature can. Our gentle plant-infused shampoo, with 100% organic aroma, helps do what harsher cleansers can’t—resist fading.

  • Keeps hair color vibrant longer
  • Protects color-treated hair from damaging effects of sun, water and environmental stresses
  • Leaves hair silky, soft and shiny

Color Conserve Conditioner:

Our plant-based conditioner seals hair cuticles to help lock in color and shine, while 100% organic aroma brings nature closer.

  • Keeps hair color vibrant longer
  • Protects color-treated hair from damaging effects of sun, water and environmental stresses
  • Detangles and adds shine

Madam M Says:

Color Conserve Shampoo:

I could smell this shampoo for hours and hours. Its brimming with the delicious scents of Aveda’s own Pure-Fume containing certified organic lavender, Ylang Ylang, peppermint, geranium & grapefruit. It has a white pearlescent look and thickish consistence. I usually wash my hair twice a week as its long (just past my shoulder blades) and thick as a horses tail and if it’s not blow dried and straightened when washed it’s all straight in some bits and curly\wavy in others and every so poofy. Yes its strange hair! And I have a fringe but I wash this every single day as its gets a little manky with sebum, makeup and sweat. Plus it sits better when its freshly washed.  I found that due to this being a low foaming shampoo I really need to shampoo & repeat to get that clean feeling which isn’t a con as, if I was washing my hair every day this would not be a problem. I always find my hair is super cleansed but in no way stripped and it doesn’t knot up from my vigorous shampooing. I use only about a 20 cent piece per shampoo as I only apply  to the roots of my hair and upon rinsing it washes the rest of my hair.

Color Conserve Conditioner:

Again the fragrance is to die for and includes Aveda’s own Pure-fume containing certified organic lavender, Ylang Ylang, peppermint, geranium & grapefruit. This has a lovely thick consistency without that heavy, slimy feeling some conditioners can have. I need at least 3 large blobs of this as I apply it to the top my head and smooth down, then underneath at the back of my head then I smooth this all the way to the ends of my hair and generally add more . Like I said my hair is hell thick and long! This conditioner rinses clean and doesn’t leave your hair with that heavy bulky feeling and is free from knots and tangles .

I started using both of these products but then decided after a few weeks it wasnt giving me that oh my god my hair is so soft and silky and eye blinding shine.

These have now been relegated to the bottom of the shower and I only used them when I am home on a day off and I don’t need to “do my hair’ or I’m going to have my hair in a plait or bun for work. I use this purely because of the smell as it is just absolutely delightful and I if I could I would just sit home and sniff my hair all day long!

These products didn’t work for me because my thick, long hair just needs more from a conditioner and this is no where a fail for these products, it just doesn’t suit my needs but I would highly recommend anyone to try them as I think they are just fabulous!

You can get your mitts on this product from:

Aveda: Shampoo 250ml $34.95, Conditioner 200ml $34.95 Online www.aveda.com.au

Aveda concept & Spa stockists in Australia

This product was purchased for review.

