Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

Boooooo no one likes a dry lip kiss no matter who you are. Lucky for us Maybelline have some to the rescue just in time for winter……

MAYBELLINE SAYS:

Say goodbye to basic lip balm and rediscover the lips you were born to have!
- Lips are instantly moisturized for up to 8 hours.
- Contains active care ingredients, such as shea butter and centella.
- Vitamin Complex delivering powerful anti-oxidants.
- SPF 20 for protection against harmful UV rays.
- After 4 weeks lips are deeply repaired, completely reborn. Guaranteed.

For Best Results


Apply lip balm daily to deliver moisturized, soft and comfortable lips. A great base for your favorite Maybelline gloss or lipstick.

Available in four tempting flavours: 

-Energizing Orange 

-Smoothing Cherry 

-Relieving Menthol 

-Anti-Oxidant Berry


MADAM A SAYS:

My first purchase for review was the Smoothing Cherry baby lips. This glides on ever so smoothly and leaves a perfectly nourishing protective barrier on my lips. Not sticky and not waxy. Yay! The taste really is quite subtle but for the life of me I didn’t get a “cherry” flavor. Something kept telling me I knew the flavor and it’s sure as hell wasn’t cherry. The suddenly it dawned on me… yes I know this flavor… its the original Chapstick flavor. So I ran to my stash of handbags… yes you all have the same stash in your wardrobe so stop with the gasping noise.. While riffling like a banshee through them looking for an old chapstick (which of course was in the last bag I looked in) I finally found it….. And yep…. it’s the same flavor. Now thinking I was having a “bad taste bud day” I ran to get a second opinion and yep same same. I actually like the flavor of chapstick but was just a teeny bit disappointed I wasn’t getting the whole cherry experience.

So feeling a little miffed I thought id run back to priceline (meh any excuse) and grab another Baby Lips just purely for comparison. This time I decided to go for the Energizing Orange! 

Energizing orange also glides on super smoothly and leaves your lips with a smooth and nourishing barrier. This baby is definitely orange flavored. The flavor is a little more noticeable than the smoothing cherry but is not over powering or off putting in any way. 

All Baby Lips SPF20 Lip balms contain Centella which sounds oh so exotic but actually isn’t. Its botanical name is centella asiatica which as cute little pink flowers and is a native to Northern Australia as well as India, Sri Lanka and PNG. It has mild antibacterial, anti-inflammatory and antiviral properties. I’m having a hard time trying to find any substantial fact to back up maybellines statement it “increases cell turnover” but hey if they have billions of dollars to do all the research ill believe them. 

I think both of these are fabulous for daily use especially seeing as though it has the added benefit for having a fairly substantial SPF but also as a fantastic base for matte lipsticks which can sometime feel a little drying on he lips.

You can get your mitts on these products from:

Priceline – $3.19

Coles 

Target

Big W

Kmart

National Pharmacies

Pulse Pharmacies

This product was purchased for review.